Hello there!

I realize I haven’t updated this poor blog in a while but I’ve actually been too busy writing. Which I think is a good excuse!

The rough draft for my first novel is approaching something resembling finished. (finally!)

I’m sitting around 56,000 words right now with a few entries that haven’t been integrated yet. At this stage, having written almost all the larger pieces, I’m going back through and rewriting some of the earliest fragments to better fit the evolution of the characters and general tone of the overall story. Getting it all in order makes it easier to see where there are still holes or scenes missing. Plus I need to pen all the connecting ‘bridge’ segments. But I think it’s safe to say I’ve officially entered revision mode! Woo! Time to dance the progress jig! XD

So! For the month of October I have two goals, and lofty ones at that: completely finish my rough draft and plan for NaNoWriMo.

I seriously considered skipping NaNoWriMo this year. My rough draft is so close to completion; it would make a lot of sense to buckle down and focus all my energy on getting it ready for submission to a publisher. I’m especially anxious about that step as I believe I’ve found a micro-publisher that’s the perfect fit for me. I’m excited to send them my manuscript and see if they feel the same!

But, I can’t forget that NaNoWriMo is what got me serious about this project in the first place. And while I only penned 12,000 words in last year’s competition, I would never have reached this point had I not competed at all. So, not only do I feel like I have some sort of moral obligation to compete again this year, but I can’t ignore the singular opportunity to jump start my next project. Plus, with the first novel still in draft form, working on the plot for the second adds some flexibility that I might not otherwise have. I still have the power to go back and alter the story should I need something to make sense in the overall arc.

Getting back into plot planning has been really exciting! I’ve become so invested in these characters over the last year. Getting to advance their stories and introduce new characters for them to interact with is exhilarating. I’m trying to find a balance between finishing my first draft and making sure I’m as well prepared for this year’s NaNo as I possibly can be. October is going to be a busy month and November will be even busier. NaNoWriMo is grueling.  I don’t know if I’ll win this year- 50,000 words in a single month seems nearly impossible considering how hard it was to reach that over the course of the last year. But I’m going to try my damnedest! And honestly, anything beyond last year’s 12k I’ll call a success.

So here’s hoping for the best! With a little luck and a lot of effort, I’ll hopefully see you all on the other side of November with one polished manuscript and at least a partial new rough draft.

Happy writing and good luck to everyone else preparing for the NaNoWriMo challenge this year!

One thought on “October Writing Update (NaNoWriMo Approaches)

Leave a Reply

