When I finally sit down to write, headphones are a must; since much like a squirrel or other small woodland creature, I am easily distracted. (I can hear the television from four rooms over and will absolutely hone in on it.) Early on I was tempted to construct elaborate playlists that inspired me, songs with lyrics and tones that fit what I was writing about. And almost immediately I realized how flawed that plan was. Unless I play a single song on repeat that matches the scene Iโ€™m currently working on, there is no way my playlist is going to coincide with what Iโ€™m doing. And having an upbeat track pumping during a funeral march can be a little detrimental to the whole process when you get right down to it.

Additionally, (and this might be specific to me, personally) I find that writing to music with words can be a little distracting in and of itself. The easy fix was to switch to instrumental music, but I still had the problem of mismatched tones. The solution bled over one of my other major life interests: video games! Video game soundtracks make the perfect work-mode background music in their very design. Most game scores are purposely made not to distract but to actually advocate focus and concentration. I did a little research to find the best candidates and stumbled upon this list IGN put together last year.

I picked a few likely candidates and hopped on Spotify , splicing together the OSTs from Fez, Bastion, Transistor, and voila! The perfect focus playlist!

If youโ€™re looking for some background noise while you work (even if you donโ€™t come from a gaming background) I highly recommend checking some of these soundtracks out!

Happy writing! Or gaming. Or whatever!

One thought on “Getting in the Zone- Tunes to Write To

Leave a Reply

